Friday, February 17, 2017

How Each Senator Voted on Trump’s Cabinet and Administration Nominees

From the New York Times

The Senate has confirmed each of President Trump’s nominees that it has voted on so far. Fifteen members of the cabinet and eight other top administration posts require Senate confirmation.

All but four of the “no” votes have come from Democrats and have essentially been symbolic statements of opposition. Nominees need only a simple majority to be confirmed, and Republicans hold 52 seats in the Senate.

We’ll continue to update this page as the Senate holds more confirmation votes.

[Pictured: Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), who has cast more NO votes than any other Senator.]

Thursday, February 16, 2017

Here’s the presidential order of succession

From the New York Daily News

For no specific reason, here’s a reminder of the order of succession if President Trump — and any of his immediate successors — were to somehow leave office very soon.

1. Vice President Mike Pence

2. House Speaker Paul Ryan

3. President pro tempore of the Senate Orrin Hatch (pictured)

4. Secretary of State Rex Tillerson

5. Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin

6. Defense Secretary James Mattis...